COST OF ACTIVISM

Deaths of Political Prisoners

in Iranian State Custody 1999-2018

At least 29 detainees and prisoners held on politically motivated charges have died in Iranian state institutions since 1999 during the terms of two judicial heads—Mahmoud Hashemi Shahroudi and Sadegh Larijani—both of whom were appointed by Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei. This number does not include deaths by execution, of which there have been thousands. Those who have perished in Iranian prisons and detention centers were mostly imprisoned because of their activism, and include dual nationals such as Iranian Canadian academic and environmentalist Kavous Seyed-Emami, who died in February 2018 under highly suspicious circumstances while being held for interrogations in Evin Prison.

The deaths occurred as a result of beatings while in custody, denial of critically needed medical care, or other gross negligence on the part of the authorities. Only two of the cases were taken to court, leading to just seven prosecutions. The lack of prosecutions is enabled by a judiciary that allows intelligence and prison officials to act with impunity and the absence of mandatory investigations, autopsies or publicly available medical examiner's reports when a death occurs in state custody. There are also no effective grievance mechanisms for the victims' families, who are pressured by state authorities to be silent about their cases.





Two Critical Years

Thousands arrested in protests against the disputed result of the presidential election.

Thousands arrested during nationwide protests against government policies.

Deaths vs. **Prosecutions**

Deaths

7 People Sentenced

Prosecutions: 2

Only two cases were taken to court, leading to seven deaths of Sattar Beheshti, Mohammad Kamrani,

and Amir Javadifar.

1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

Who is Responsible?

The chief of Iran's judiciary is appointed by the supreme leader and is responsible for the welfare of detainees.



Chief Justice of Iran 1999-2009

Mahmoud Hashemi Shahroudi

Chief Justice of Iran 2009-2018 Sadegh Larijani



Supreme Leader



Seyyed Ali Khamenei

Where They Died

