In today’s session at the Human Rights Council (HRC), UN member states voted to renew the mandate of the Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in the Islamic Republic of Iran, Ahmed Shaheed. With 22 yes votes, 5 no votes, and 20 abstentions, member states again showed their support for the mandate and concern at human rights violations in Iran.

Today’s vote showed strong cross-regional support with 22 Yes votes from countries including Peru, Botswana, Chile, Senegal, Maldives, the Czech Republic, Benin, Romania, Mexico, Hungary, Costa Rica, Poland and Guatemala. Mauritania changed from a No vote last year to Yes. Ecuador changed from a No vote last year to an abstention. While Ecuador and Uruguay abstained, citing hesitations about country-specific resolutions, they still made strong statements expressing concern for human rights violation in Iran and calling on the government to impose a moratorium on the death penalty. Over 47 UN member states co-sponsored the resolution.